About JFT

In December 2006, representatives from USDA-Forest Service (USFS), USDA-Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) and the National Association of State Foresters (NASF) representing state forestry agency executives gathered at the first Joint Leadership Meeting to discuss ways the three agencies/organizations could collaborate more effectively to address resource concerns on working lands. By June 2007, the National Association of Conservation Districts (NACD) had joined the partnership and the Joint Forestry Team (JFT) was created. The Team’s 12 members, three from each of the four agencies/organizations, were tasked with recommending ways they could work together more effectively to provide forestry and related conservation assistance to the owners of working farms, forests and ranches. The team was chartered in November 2007 and charged with operating through December 2009. In September 2009 executives of the four member organizations met to re-charter the JFT for additional five years to maintain the momentum being made.

JFT Mission
The Joint Forestry Team’s purpose is to make recommendations that result in coordinated interagency delivery of forestry and conservation assistance for working forests, farms, and ranches. Team participants seek to improve the sustainability of the nation’s forests in order to provide optimum levels of public benefits and ecosystem services.

Team Members
The Joint Forestry Team consists of three members and a staff member from each of the four partners:

National Association of State Foresters (NASF)
Mike Lester, State Forester, Colorado State Forest Service
Randy Dye, State Forester, West Virginia Division of Forestry
Charlie W. Morgan, State Forester, Mississippi Forestry Commission
NASF staff support:

Marvin Brown, Forest Resource Management Committee Staff Coordinator
Website: www.stateforesters.org

Visit NASF

National Association of Conservation Districts (NACD)
Steve Hedstrom, NACD Board Member (Montana) and Chair of the Forest Resource Policy Group
John McAlpine, Forest Resource Policy Group Member, Arkansas Association of Conservation Districts
Tom Crowe, Forest Resource Policy Group Member, Indiana Association of Conservation Districts
NACD staff support:

Mike Beacom, Forestry Specialist, NACD
Website: www.nacdnet.org

Visit NACD

Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS)
Juan Hernandez, Maine State Conservationist
Ann English, South Carolina State Conservationist, Alternate Member
NRCS staff support:

Eunice Padley, National Forester, NRCS
Website: nrcs.usda.gov

U.S. Forest Service (USFS)
Debbie Hollen, Region 6 Partnership Coordinator, Public & Legislative Affairs
Kay Reed, Director, USFS Region 8 Cooperative Forestry Unit
USFS staff support:

Laurie Schoonhoven, Cooperative Forestry, USFS
Website: www.fs.fed.us

Progress to Date/Team Documents
Progress to Date/Team Document The Team was chartered in November 2007 and charged with operating through December 2009. Soon after being chartered, members of the JFT surveyed their organizations and found that there are five barriers to the delivery of forestry-related assistance:

insufficient technical expertise;
lack of integration of planning and other administrative issues;
funding is inadequate and inconsistent;
the parties speak different languages; and
forestry is not a priority for many State Technical Committees.
These five barriers then became the focal points for the development of a memorandum of understanding (MOU). In October 2008, an MOU was signed by executives of the agencies and organizations. The MOU prescribes 12 joint and 47 individual actions by each of the cooperating organizations.

JFT Charter
The Joint Forestry Team extended its charter for five more years in 2015. Download PDF

The renewed national memorandum of understanding entered into by the NASF, NACD, NRCS and USFS in September 2013 describes the roles and responsibilities of each party to increase cooperation in a coordinated delivery of forestry assistance to private landowners